Guidelines for the Establishment of the College Affairs Committee at the College of International Culture, Education, and Foreign Affairs Wenzao Ursuline University of Languages

Approved by the College Preparatory Committee on August 13, 2013 Ratified by the University President on August 15, 2013 Revised by the College Affairs Committee on February 19, 2014 Ratified by the University President on February 26, 2014 Revised by the College Affairs Committee on September 22, 2021 Ratified by the University President on November 04, 2021

- I. The College Affairs Committee (hereinafter "the Committee") has been established as the highest executive committee of the College of International Culture, Education, and Foreign Affairs (hereinafter "the College") in accordance with the Charter of Wenzao Ursuline University of Languages.
- II. The membership of the Committee includes the following:
 - 1. Ex-officio members: the Dean of the College, the chairperson of each department (graduate institute), and the Director of the Center for English Language Teaching.
 - 2. Elected members: elected from among the faculty members with the positions of lecturer or above in the College. For every five faculty members, the department or center should elect one Committee member. Every department and center with less than five faculty members should elect one Committee member. If the remaining number is more than three and less than five, one Committee member should be elected. Elected members of any one department, graduate institute, or center must not exceed one-half of the total number of the elected members. Elected members serve for a term of one year and may be re-elected. The election process is decided by each department, graduate institute, and center.
 - 3. Student members: one student representative from the Day Division of the College, one from the Continuing Education Division of the College, and one from the graduate institutes.

- 4. Relevant stuff members may be invited to attend Committee meetings as non-voting participants.
- III. The Committee may establish sub-committees and planning teams.
- IV. The Committee deliberates matters related to teaching, research, service, student advising, and college development. The specific responsibilities of the Committee include:
 - 1. Deliberation of budgets for and developmental plans of the College.
 - 2. Deliberation of issues related to teaching, research, advising, service, general affairs, and other relevant matters of the College.
 - 3. Deliberation of regulations and guidelines of the College.
 - 4. Deliberation of establishment of new departments and adjustment of existing ones within the College.
 - 5. Deliberation of decisions made by sub-committees or planning teams.
 - 6. Planning and deliberation of other important issues concerning the College.
- V. The committee is convened by the Dean of the College and meets at least once per semester. When necessary, special meetings may be called when the Dean deems necessary or when more than one-half of the Committee membership petition for calling the meeting.
- VI. The Dean of the College serves as the Committee's chair. When the Dean is unable to attend a committee meeting, a member of the Committee is elected as the acting chair.
- VII. More than one half of the membership constitutes a quorum. Resolutions require greater than a simple majority to be accepted.
- VIII. The Committee may invite experts or relevant people to attend Committee meetings or give reports.
- IX. These guidelines become effective after approval by the College Affairs Committee and ratification by the University President. Amendments follow the same procedure.